BottomLine Lawyers

ETAAC delivers 2021 Annual Report

IR-2021-131, June 23, 2021

WASHINGTON — The Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC) today released its annual report to Congress, featuring 10 recommendations with a focus on the prevention of identity theft and refund fraud.

The report groups the recommendations into two sections: recommendations to Congress involving the IRS budget, information return filing and federal data-sharing; and recommendations to the IRS grouped around electronic filing and cybersecurity.

The ETAAC is a public forum whose 21 members work closely with the Security Summit, a joint effort of the IRS, state tax administrators and the nation’s tax industry established in 2015 to fight tax-related identity theft and cybercrime.

ETAAC members represent various segments of the tax community, including individual and business taxpayers, tax professionals and preparers, tax software developers, payroll service providers, the financial industry and state and local governments.

The 2021 Report to Congress PDF is available on

At today’s annual meeting, IRS Commissioner Chuck Rettig and IRS leaders thanked six members of the committee whose terms are now ending:

  • Luanne Brown – Director of Payroll Services for Grand Valley State University.

  • Jenine Hallings – Compliance Risk Manager for Paychex.

  • Lynnette T. Riley – President of the Georgia Student Finance Commission and former Georgia Commissioner of Revenue.

  • Cynthia Rowley – Retired Assistant Commissioner with the Minnesota Department of Revenue.

  • Geno Salo – Senior Director at Thompson Reuters. For the past year he served as ETAAC Chair.

  • Matthew Vickers – General Manager of Product for U.S.-based Xero Inc.

BottomLine Lawyers

Facing Bankruptcy or other financial matters? We can help!

BottomLine Lawyers Logo

Facing bankruptcy or other financial matters? We can help!

Pop-up form